Vintage-inspired weddings this spring

Although I’m far from any proposal myself (and I say this with no regret – I am only 20-years-old), I can’t say that I’m out of the loop of all the latest wedding trends.  Wedding season is on its way this year, and admittedly, I’ve been watching too many Friday Bridedays on TLC and I find myself, from time to time, scrolling through Pinterest’s wedding category.

From what I can see, this year couldn’t be better for a wedding, with all the trends that are so reminiscent of past eras. Not only do wedding trends for this year resemble a particular period, but the styles range all the way from the 1800’s up to the 1980’s.

As my History of Fashion teacher always said, “There is no such thing as an original design anymore; it’s all about recreating the past.”

And as depressing or fantastic as that may seem, he is absolutely right. Fashion nowadays is all about taking from the past with a reason in mind. Whether its bringing back shoulder pads from the ’20’s to represent women’s rights, or floral to represent the anti-war days of the 1960’s.

This year, weddings are all about recreating romanticism from past eras with empire waists and statement sleeves, or bringing back the fun and quirkiness of what used to be known as the Mullet Dress.

Here are some of the biggest wedding trends for this year, and why I personally am so intrigued by the revival.

The empire waistline for wedding gowns this season is modelled after the Jane Austen era in the early 1800’s. This season’s empire waist is complimented with either a halter top or sweetheart neckline, but back in Austen’s time they were either worn with cap sleeves or long sleeves and high necks during the day.

Depiction of the empire waist dress.  Courtesy of Fashion-era http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

Depiction of the empire waist dress. Courtesy of Fashion-era http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

The gown was meant to make women look like a Greek goddess, while clinging to the body with nude corsets worn underneath.

Although they were meant to be as simple as possible back then, today, they may even be accompanied by beaded sleeves as this dress by Jenny Packham is.

Dress by Jenny Packham.  Photo Curtesy of You&YourWedding  http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

Dress by Jenny Packham. Photo Curtesy of You&YourWedding http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

Times have changed by a lot since then, so it’s amazing to see that the empire waist still gives off the look of innocence, no matter who wears it.

But even though white dresses were a regular thing in the early 1800’s, it was not considered the “norm.” In fact, it wasn’t until Queen Victoria wore a white gown for her wedding, that the colour even became a trend. White was not the colour for representing virtue, but for wealth.

Before Queen Victoria, wedding dresses hardly existed; women only wore their Sunday-best for weddings.
Although the trend may seem stuffy for some with tulle, lace and high necks, the look is certainly trending for this year.

Dress by Yolan Cris.
Courtesy of you & your wedding http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

Dress by Yolan Cris.
Courtesy of you & your wedding http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

The Victorian gown is only the feature of the wedding, as there are so many details that go into a Victorian-style wedding.

And then there comes a less romantic beginning.

Dress by Wtoo Bride.  Photo courtesy for Arabia Weddings http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

Dress by Wtoo Bride. Photo courtesy for Arabia Weddings http://wp.me/p39Uie-2S

While looking for photos of the original high-low dress from the 1980’s, I find that nothing comes up. Perhaps it’s so that no one questions why we decided to recreate it.
What was originally titled the Mullet dress in the ‘80’s is the dress that is long at the back and short at the front. In my mind, it seems like the perfect example of bad wedding-fashion, but today designers have managed to add some class to make it look more desirable.
It seems to be the big thing this season, and although I personally liked it on summer dresses and skirts, remaking the wedding dress in this fashion is taking it to a whole new level.
Wendy Brandes from her blog on Huffington Post has said, “never is the next new thing,” meaning that if we come up with a new name for a fad, it suddenly becomes more enticing.

Meredith Bodgas, on the other hand, shares a different opinion on her wedding blog.
She says that the high-low dress for her friend’s wedding, was comfortable, showed off her heels and gave her the best of both worlds.

Although my idea of a nice wedding gown is something a little more classic (I’m a big fan of sweetheart necklines and long lace sleeves), this is probably the biggest improvement of an infamous ‘80’s fashion.

Nonetheless, I have years before I worry about anything of the sort, but I just hope that I don’t end up with something like this:

Leave a Reply

